Dr. K.K. Talwar
Dr. K K Talwar, Electrophysiologist, Delhi
Interventional Cardiologists

Dr. K K Talwar

MBBS, MD, DM Chairman- Cardiology, Max Healthcare Max Super Speciality Hospital, Saket


  • Electrophysiology, Heart transplant

Inroduction of Dr. K K Talwar

Dr. Kewal Kishan Talwar is famously known to be the first to perform Implantable cardioverter- defibrillator (ICD) in South Asia. He was responsible for the introduction of Endomyocardial Biopsy (EMB) procedure in 1986 in All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He also introduced radiofrequency ablation facility in AIIMS in 1992 as a remedy for Cardiac Arrhythmia. This medical miracle became a speciality in India, and he got connected with the Heart Transplant program in AIIMS. With several publications to his name, his work has been featured in many medical journals and magazines. Dr. Talwar was solely responsible for the introduction of Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy in India. For his contributions and dedication, his name has also been recorded in the Limca Book of Records in the year 1997. He used the EMB procedure in his research and findings of tropical heart muscle diseases. Dr. K K Talwar has achieved a lot of milestones in his career and played a pioneering role in shaping the medical field. He has written many papers and journals which are used in medical studies worldwide. He introduced the multisite pacing system for controlling heart failures and made numerous contributions towards electrophysiology and development of cardiac pacemakers. His work earned him countless awards and recognition both in India and abroad. He has attended several conferences around the world and shared his experiences and knowledge with aspiring cardiologists. For his countless services towards medical education, he was awarded B. C. Roy Award in 2000. Dr. Talwar has also delivered numerous award orations, a few of which Dr. R. N. Chatterjee Memorial Oration, Kuwait Medical Association Oration, Dr. G. N. Sen Oration and Prof. P.S. Bidwai Memorial Oration are noteworthy.

Work Experience

  • Chairman, Cardiology, Max Super Speciality Hospital, 2013-Present
  • Director and HOD, Cardiology, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh, 2004-2013
  • Professor and HOD, Cardiology, AIIMS, 1980-2004
  • Member of Faculty, PGIMER, Chandigarh 1977-1980


  • MBBS, Punjab University, Patiala, 1969
  • MD, General Medicine, PGIMER, Chandigarh, 1973
  • DM, Cardiology, PGIMER, 1976
  • DSc, Hon, NTR University of Health Sciences, Vijayawada


  • National Academy of Medical Sciences
  • Indian National Science Academy
  • American College of Cardiology
  • International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences


  • Punjab Governance Reforms Commission
  • Former Chairman, Medical Council of India
  • Former Chairperson, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
  • Former President, Heart Failure Society of India
  • Former President, National Academy of Medical Sciences
  • Former President and patron, Indian Heart Rhythm Society

Awards and recognition

  • Aryabhat Award, 2012
  • Padma Bhushan, 2006
  • Norman Alpert Award, 2005
  • Basanti Devi Amir Chand Award, 2003
  • Goyal Prize for Science, Kurukshetra University, 2002
  • B.C. Roy Award, 2000
  • Ranbaxy Research Award, 1997
  • Amrut Modi Unichem Award, 1993
  • Shyamlal Saksena Award, 1988
  • Searle Award, 1988
  • Sujoy B. Roy Memorial Investigator Award, 1986
[ninja_form id=4]